8/14/14

Mind War - Andrew Klavan

3 Stars

ABOUT THE BOOK -
New High Score! New Record Time!
Rick nodded with grim satisfaction. He laid the game controller aside on the sofa and reached for his crutches.

Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High School had ever seen. Unflappable. Unstoppable. Number 12. But when a car accident left him crippled, Rick’s life as he knew it ended. He disavowed his triumphant past. He ignored his girlfriend. He disappeared into his bedroom—and into the glowing video screen.

But Rick’s uncanny gaming skills have attracted attention. Dangerous attention. Government agents have uncovered a potentially devastating cyber-threat: a Russian genius has created a digital reality called the Realm, from which he can enter, control, and disrupt American computer systems . . . from transportation to defense. The agents want Rick, quick-thinking quarterback and gaming master, to enter the Realm and stop the madman—before he sends America into chaos.

Entering the Realm will give Rick what he thought he’d never have again: a body as strong and fast as it was before the accident. But this is no game, there are no extra lives, and what happens to Rick in the Realm happens to Rick’s body in reality.

Even after Rick agrees to help, he can’t shake the sense that he’s being kept in the dark. Why would a government agency act so aggressively? Can anyone inside the Realm be trusted? How many others have entered before him . . . and failed to return?

In the tradition of Ender’s Game and The Matrix, MindWar is a complex thriller about a seemingly ordinary teenager who discovers a hidden gift—a gift that could make him a hero . . . or cost him everything.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR-
Andrew Klavan has been nominated for the Mystery Writer of America's Edgar award five times and won twice. He is the author of several bestselling novels, including Don't Say A Word, filmed starring Michael Douglas, True Crime, filmed by Clint Eastwood, and Empire of Lies. He is currently writing a series of thrillers for young adults called The Homelanders. The first two novels in the series are The Last Thing I Remember and The Long Way Home. Klavan is a contributing editor to City Journal and his essays have appeared in the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times and the Los Angeles Times, among other places.

MY REVIEW - I am a huge fan of Andrew Klavan and have loved everything he has written. While this book was good - it was just not my thing. It was a little too fantasy/other world for me.  That being said it was a good read and those liking fantasy would probably love it, but it wasn't my favorite. My favorite parts in this book were the parts that were not fantasy, the parts that took place right at his house etc.

The descriptions and character development were excellent! I really liked Rick and especially the two people he meets in the "Realm". Even though I am not into that kind of thing I didn't have any trouble picturing it all.And the fights with the creatures were excellent!

If you are really into fantasy and reading about creatures and other worlds you would LOVE this! It is a quick, easy read, very clean so it would be great for a teen or pre-teen. Andrew is one of the best so you know its gonna be great!

Thank you "BookLook Bloggers" for sending me this e-book for my honest review.

Get your copy from Amazon - HERE


No comments:

Post a Comment