8/6/15

Her Sister's Shoes - Ashley Farley (GIVEAWAY!!!)

4 Stars!

ABOUT THE BOOK -
Proves the healing power of family . . .
Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister’s Shoes is the story of three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband’s infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother’s mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Dot Frank and Mary Alice Monroe, Her Sister’s Shoes is a contemporary women’s novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR -
Ashley Farley is a book blogger at Chronicles and author of Saving Ben and Her Sister's Shoes. She is a community volunteer in Richmond, Virginia, where she lives with her husband and two college-aged children.

Visit her website at www.ashleyfarley.net, connect with her on Facebook and Twitter, and friend her on Goodreads.



MY THOUGHTS -
There were so many things I loved about this book! It kinda reminded me of one of my favorite TV shows - Mistresses! Only on Mistresses only two are sisters the rest are best friends. This is a true look at family, sisters, bonding, and love. This book started out a little slow for me but half way through - really picked up and was actually hard to put down! 

I loved how the chapters took turns with the three sisters. Each sister was very different and the author did a fantastic job keeping the personalities true all the way through the story. 
Each one had their problems and through these problems and helping each other, grew closer together! Great character development!

This story was also very suspenseful towards the end and kept me on the edge of my seat - Great job! This is definitely an author I would love to read more of.
"Cheaters are never sorry for their actions. They're only sorry they got caught." 

Thank you TLC Book Tours for sending me this e-book for my honest review!

Get your copy on Amazon - HERE (only 2.99 for Kindle version - a steal!)

GIVEAWAY!!!!!
I am giving away (thanks to TLC book tours!) one copy of "Her Sister's Shoes"!
Winner will be chosen on Aug. 21.
* Please enter by filling out the form below.
* Please be from the USA.
* If you are a follower you will get an extra entry!
* If you comment on a this post you will get an extra entry!
A lot of people win with the extra entry - so its worth it!

8 comments:

  1. I enjoyed the suspense as well. Lovely review

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for this lovely feature and great giveaway. Novels which involved family interaction, and emotions are meaningful and special. Your review was captivating. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  3. I always wished I had a family that was big and close. That would have been nice. Loved the review.
    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooh that comment about cheaters is SO true!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Love the sound of the book.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I think most of the books I end up loving start out slow. I don't know if that's part of needing time to develop a story and characters, but almost every time I complain in my head about a book starting off slow, I'm completely in love with it by the end (including my current read!).

    ReplyDelete
  7. This book sounds really good. Definitely going on my TBR list! Thanks for the chance to win a copy :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds really good! Love to have a big family to spend holidays with.

    pattifritz2000 at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete