Rhythm of Deceit - Rachael Richey

4.5 Stars!

Book two in the NightHawk Series
Two years after finally being reunited, Abigail Thomson and Gideon Hawk are happily married and living in Cornwall with their children. While Gideon is busy focusing his energies on his musical career, Abi makes an unexpected discovery of old diaries dating from 1950. As she and her daughter read through them, the reasons behind Abi’s mother’s destructive actions become much clearer, and they discover a shocking sixty-year-old deception. Meanwhile, Simon Dean, the vengeful ex-drummer of Gideon’s band NightHawk, is about to make life very difficult for them all—again—and he is prepared to go to desperate lengths to achieve his goals.

Rachael Richey lives in Cornwall, England with her husband and children. She has been writing stories since she was a small child, and her first women's fiction novel, Storm Rising, was published in February 2015 by the Wild Rose Press. Storm Rising is the first book in the NightHawk Series. The second book, Rhythm of Deceit is due out shortly, to be followed by two more.

Visit her awesome website - HERE

Wow, wow, wow! Talk about your suspenseful, sad, heartwarming, edge-of-your-seat writing!
I have to admit something - It was a little slow going for me in the beginning. I kept thinking "Where is this going? Isn't something going to happen?" Then a third of the way in it got FANTASTIC and I had a hard time putting it down.

This story is kind of two stories in one. One that is happening now, which was scary, suspenseful and keeps you guessing. The other happens within a box of family papers, pictures, and old diaries from her mother and a mysterious aunt Abi knew nothing about. So half the book takes you back in time to 1950 when Abi's mother was a teen.. Many times I don't care for this part of a book as much as the original story-line, but in this case... I think I liked it even more! I think I could have read a whole book just about them. Their story was amazing, very well written and sad. I really felt like I was taken back in time. Rachael did a great job with this part!

The character development was excellent especially for Joan and Pauline from the diary. I loved these two girls and I truly felt emotionally invested in their part of the story. I really cared about what happened to them and found myself reading with my hand over my mouth. I had a few ideas about what I thought was going to happen but their sad story just shocked me! ~ I have you now, don't I? You want to know what happens!

Aaanndd... the ending, of course, leaves you hanging! A great ending to this book two, it was very exciting right up to the end - but has to leave you hanging for book three to sweep in and carry you away! - I can't wait! OK I admit it, I'm hooked!

I liked book one - Storm Rising, my review - HERE
But I loved this one even more and if book three - Cobwebs In The Dark, is anything like these I am sure I will love it!

Thank you Rachael Richey for sending me your book for my honest review!

Get your copy from Amazon - HERE
 Cobwebs In The Dark
The third book in The NightHawk Series
Coming Soon!

With NightHawk newly reformed and preparing for a world tour, Abi Hawk finds herself unaccountably insecure about the attention her husband Gideon, the band's frontman, will receive from groupies.  In New Zealand for the first leg of the tour and a visit with Gideon's sister, they are faced with a new problem.  An outrageous claim pushes Abi's insecurities to new heights, and it takes all their resolve to stick together and sort it out. Meanwhile their daughter Natasha goes on an adventure of her own; one that places her in grave danger from an old adversary, forcing Abi and Gideon to summon all their combined strength in an attempt to rescue her.

No comments:

Post a Comment