2/17/21

The Good Wife - Eleanor Porter

 



ABOUT THE BOOK -

Where will her loyalty lead her?

Once accused of witchcraft Martha Spicer is now free from the shadow of the gallows and lives a safe and happy life with her husband, Jacob. But when Jacob heads north to accompany his master, he warns Martha to keep her healing gifts a secret, to keep herself safe, to be a good wife.

Martha loves Jacob but without him there to protect her, she soon comes under the suspicious eye of the wicked Steward Boult, who’s heard of her talent and forces her to attend to him. If she refuses, he promises to destroy the good life she has built for herself with Jacob.

Desperate and alone, Martha faces a terrible decision: stay and be beholden to Boult or journey north to find Jacob who is reported to have been killed.. The road ahead is filled with danger, but also the promise of a brighter future. And where her gifts once threatened to be her downfall, might they now be the very thing that sets Martha free...?

The brilliant follow-up to Eleanor Porter's first novel of love, betrayal, superstition and fear in Elizabethan England. A story of female courage, ingenuity and determination , this is perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier.

Purchase Link - UK  - HERE

Purchase Link - US - HERE


ABOUT THE AUTHOR -

Eleanor Porter has lectured at Universities in England and Hong Kong and her poetry and short fiction has been published in magazines. The Wheelwright’s Daughter was her first novel.

Social Media Links –
https://twitter.com/elporterauthor

https://www.facebook.com/eleanorporterauthor

Newsletter sign up: http://bit.ly/EleanorPorterNewsletter

https://www.instagram.com/eleanorporterauthor/


MY THOUGHTS -

I love historical fiction and I love historical fiction about witches, or suspected witches! So... this was a win/win for me.

Sadly I did not get to read the first book -  The Wheelwright's Daughter, but it will  now be on my wish list! You don't need to read the first one to "get" this one. The author does a great job of making this feel like a stand alone.

This was very well written. I really did feel like I was right there. There was love, suspense, a real historical feel.

This was very interesting. Kept me wanting to read every page. Great character development. A definate must read for fans of "the witch trials" and historical fiction in general.

I voluntarily posted this review after receiving a copy of this book from Rachel's Random Resources -  Thank You!!



 


1 comment:

  1. It has been a while since I've read a book about witches. This sounds like a great read!

    ReplyDelete